Westfield shopping centre

westfield1Shepherd’s Bush, London (transport details here).
Not even in my younger, more shopping friendly days would I have expected to be blown away by a shopping centre. But when I visited Westfield London last Tuesday, I have to confess to being pretty gobsmacked. Not by the shops, mind you. I didn’t even enter one (I was simply making my way home from a meeting at the BBC* and had to walk through it to get to Shepherd’s Bush Overground station). But the place itself. It’s huge. And I don’t mean a lot of stores, I mean everything about it is huge. The walkways are really wide. The shop fronts are really high. The whole thing is about one and a half times as big as you’d expect it to be. Huge. And there’s touchscreen maps to tell you not only where things are, but how to get there. And digital advertising poster sites. And sofas to sit on when you’re knackered. Not seats, or benches, but sofas. And huge chandaliers and glass roofs and everything. It’s like ‘Shopping Centre meets Star Trek’. And in my book anything ‘…meets Star Trek’ has got to be good.
(4/5 But might lose its shine when it’s full of actual shoppers)
* darling

2 thoughts on “Westfield shopping centre

  1. I agree.

    I didn’t think I’d ever get excited by a shopping centre, let alone write a blog comment about it, but Westfield is really something.

    I’ve been to shopping centres all over the world (again this makes me sound very strange) but Westfield’s scale and design is impressive.

    I’ve only been there twice. I’m sure I’ll notice different things every time I go. The last time, we were stuck in a bit of traffic getting into the parking (they were offering two hours free) and so I was staring at a side of the building that seemeed like really clever urban camouflage. Its broken lines and subtle shades of grey and green really broke up the scale.

    I love newness of the car park too. Someone told me there were lights over empty spaces to help you find them. Not sure if that’s true – be great if it was. Finding the way out and the stairs was harder – wierd how they put so much effort in then have sh*t signage.

  2. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else experiencing problems with your blog.
    It appears as though some of the written text within
    your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback
    and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This might be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen previously. Thank you

Leave a Reply

