‘Old Spot’ Sausage Roll

Old Spot Sausage roll

The Bluebird Delicatessence, The Kings Road, Chelsea (£1.50).
For those of you not familiar with The Bluebird, discovering a plate of sausage rolls nestling delicately in amongst the stuffed vine leaves and foie gras of its deli won’t sound that amazing. But bare in mind that the Bluebird is the jewel in Terrance Conran’s crown – a small, but very exclusive complex of shops in a famous, old, Art deco  building slap bang in the middle of Chelsea – and you start to understand that it’s as unlikely to be there as, well, I am. Nevertheless, there we both are. Managing, between us, to effect the culinary equivalent, of the direct opposite, of discovering a diamond in the rough. If you follow me.

I’m afraid I can’t shead any real light on the origins of the name ‘Old Spot’. Perhaps it was the name of the dog the meat came from? The other thing of note is the slightly disconcerting pinkness of the sausage element. Under most cicumstances i would take both of these things as fairly ill omens, but given its provenance, I feel pretty happy that I’m looking at a reasonably high quailty snack. So how does it taste?

Delicate, flakey pastry. Light, not too greasy. Good firm sausage. Nicely seasoned. All round, very satisfying. And surprisingly good value too. If you’re ever up in Chelsea, I’d recommend it.
(4/5 Nice work Terry)

5 thoughts on “‘Old Spot’ Sausage Roll

  1. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thanks, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS.

    I don’t understand why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody else having the same RSS problems?
    Anybody who knows the solution will you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

